The End of the World

“It’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine.” ~R.E.M.

Well now, if I had known the end of the world would be today, I don’t think I would have taken the time to get my blog started. But at least I will move into the next world happy. Happy because something happened that I didn’t expect, and because I’m writing about it.

This morning before work I was doing what any normal person would do, trying to take a selfie of my gray hairs to set as my profile picture! Oh and I’m in the half bath because the walls are prettier because they have a hand-stenciled by me design. Yes I have many talents! Mr. G is so lucky to have me! Anyway, since the bathroom is about the size of a bread box, there are no windows, so I have to figure out if really bright or really dim light is the best to use to avoid a glare from the camera flash, yet still be able to see the nasty gray hairs I’m trying to photograph. Yes if you were paying attention I talked about my 2 light choices in my first post…seems the builders liked to adorn every room with 2 switches so we could forever be flicking both switches to see which one is better to see what we need to see.

Anyway, I digress. The G house can be another topic someday. So daughter “Peanut” comes wandering by. She doesn’t break her usual practice of not noticing what I’m doing until she is heading up the steps and glances over at me. Then she gets the look of someone who smells liver and onions (no offense to anyone who likes that) and comes nearer, very slowly like I’m going to suddenly lunge at her and grab her and make her hug me and she wants enough time to get away from THAT torture.

Me: Oh good you can help me.

Peanut: okayyyyyyy. (With raised eyebrow added to the I smell something awful face.)

Me: Please take a picture of my head. Not my face. Just my head.

Peanut: uhhhh….why?

Me: oh because I’m writing a blog about you and it’s called yay more grays so I thought it would be fun to use this as my picture.

Silence from Peanut.

And then the beginning of the end happened. She reached out, took the camera and smiled at me.  I suddenly feel like Rudolph when Clarice kissed him and said he was cute and I wanted to leap around shouting, “She smiled at me! She smiled at meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!” But luckily I only thought about doing that because it is way too early in this relationship to talk about how much I embarrass Peanut. Plus no one was around to witness it so therefore I don’t think it counts as embarrassing anyway.

Image courtesy of artur84 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of artur84 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

No, this isn’t Peanut. I was way too surprised at this thing I have seen on many other faces but forgot when the last time was that I was the cause of it on her face to remember to turn the camera around and snap her face for evidence.

But wait, it gets better. Then she laughed at me! I don’t know if it was because what we were doing was silly, or if she was happy the blog is mostly about her, or just that she was laughing at me because I am so weird in her 11 year-old opinion. I don’t care either. She and I were in the same room, very close to each other, and happy about it! Oh yes, it’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine!

Oh and here’s the picture I decided on….taken by Peanut.

IMG_6968

2 thoughts on “The End of the World

Leave a Reply

