Yay. More Gray!

“Although initially only few in numbers, it seems my gray hairs have launched an effective peer-pressure campaign intended to convert the others.”
Steve Maraboli, Unapologetically You: Reflections on Life and the Human Experience

Wow a quote about gray hairs. You really can find anything on the Internet! 🙂

A few years ago it appeared, sticking straight up in the middle of my newly brushed hair. No I thought, it’s the bad lighting in my bathroom. I turned on the brighter light and noticed the white strand had a few friends. After quickly going back to my original dimmer lighting that didn’t really make a difference in the number of gray hairs I pretended I didn’t see,  I pondered these stiff gray spikes sprouting in every direction and wondered why I was going gray. I was barely 40!  Yeah my mom had gone gray early but everyone knows you do things differently than your mother did. I figured this applied too.

So I started to pluck them. And those suckers were cemented in there. I pulled many of the desired browns out too but didn’t give up until I plucked every last one of those spiky gray spindly hairs clustered smack dab in the middle of my cowlick over my right eye. All the while I heard my angel mom telling me to stop plucking them, she always felt they gave her character.  I didn’t want character, I wanted to look young! I AM young!

I was happy and gray-free for a few days until they came back. Someone behind me burst my beautiful hair bubble by stating,”By the way, you got a coupla grays in the back there.” Yay. More Gray! NOT! I’m still wondering why I had to be told about gray hairs I was previously blissfully unaware of!

Later I was obsessing in front of the mirror when my 8 year-old daughter came stomping up the steps yelling she hates us and we ruined the best day ever!!! To this day I don’t know what we did. And that wasn’t the last time I’ve heard that!

Little did I know that was only the beginning. She is 11 now. The curviest, fastest, highest, scariest roller coaster in the world does not terrorize me like she does.

image courtesy of antpkr / FreeDigitalPhotos.net.

image courtesy of antpkr / FreeDigitalPhotos.net.

Yes I said it! I know there are others like me…looking for advice to get through this time. I look at this blog as a work in progress, an instruction manual if you will. We can learn from each other, and maybe start to see our gray hairs as signs of our surviving our membership in the preteen parenting club. Maybe we can learn to rejoice when a new one appears. Or not. But at least we’ll have character.

2 thoughts on “Yay. More Gray!

  1. Pingback: Best Quote Ever!#23: Steve Maraboli | TALES BY CINDY

Leave a Reply

