Thank God for Answering Machines

“You have to take into account it was the cell phone that became what the modern-day concept of a phone call is, and this is a device that’s attached to your hip 24/7. Before that there was ‘leave a message’ and before that there was ‘hopefully you’re home.'”
~Giovanni Ribisi

So I probably just lost a few readers because they have no idea what an answering machine is. I already admitted that I love the 80s, so you shouldn’t be surprised that I refer to answering machines, aka voice mail as part of a cell phone.

The extinct answering machine

The extinct answering machine

We have a cordless phone, again I realize I’m probably losing even more of you, since probably only me and Mr. G’s parents still have a land line, but what can I do, I’m just writing things for you to read. Our voice mail goes into the handset charger.

Every day Peanut runs to the phone to listen to the messages and calls me to tell me what they are, to be helpful I guess in her mind, so I’m not wondering for another half hour who called me and what they said in their message. Though in my opinion, the truth is she is simply being nosy because she has a bad habit of forgetting mostly everything since it’s not a message for her so therefore not really that important.

Peanut: Mommy, someone called for you. It might be good news. She and her family or someone might want to blog with you or something sometime.

Me: Who was it?

Peanut: I don’t remember, you can listen to it when you get home in 10 minutes.

Me: Blog with me? What?!??

Peanut: Bye!

So even though it’s obsolete, my answering machine was able to decipher Peanut’s cryptically relayed message and tell me that I have another client! 🙂 It’s just a shame that when I call her back I can’t stretch the phone cord into the far dining room corner to have some privacy.

One thought on “Thank God for Answering Machines

  1. lol, we had a cordless phone and answering machine before we moved (yikes that’s 4 years ago now!).
    I kind of miss seeing that blinking light.
    I can relate.
    Hope you find your new client. That was one thing bad about them, messages could be lost so easily.
    ~Rebecca

Leave a Reply

