Fur Therapy

“There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.”
~Albert Schweitzer

Today was one of those days I wished I could just say heck with it and go back to bed and pull the covers up over my head and escape into a good nap. Until 6:30 when I could go for my fur therapy!

The SPCA has so many animals that they have to partner with pet stores as a satellite shelter, but even that doesn’t really help and many of the cats are in foster homes until there’s room at the SPCA. ūüė¶ In an earlier post I talked about being currently catless, and how I was volunteering at the SPCA to help the cats and myself. I’m still volunteering but now I’m at the satellite shelter that’s near my house.¬†There are only 10 cats or less¬†at the pet store, so it’s easier to interact with them, which¬†I like.

Tonight I took Peanut and Bird with me so they could play with the cats while I fed them and cleaned their litter boxes. I don’t know who was happier, my kids who were dangling feathers and catnip mice everywhere or the cats who were getting attention and exercise!

Because there were only 5 cats there as some were recently adopted, it didn’t take long for me to finish caring for them. I did dawdle a bit because I was enjoying the frenzy of the cats running free chasing my kids and jumping on cat perches and playing with the volunteer notebook and pen and just¬†being happy.

Peanut and Bird were sad when I was done and it was time to leave, but were glad they were allowed to play with the cats. The cats seemed content, and were probably tired from all the feather chasing! I was in a better mood too. But how can you not be in a good mood after being around cats??? Cats are purrfect for what ails you!

Please visit your local SPCA’s website to learn how you can help the animals by donating time, money or ¬†items from the SPCA’s wishlist, or to sign up to volunteer or better yet, to adopt a furry friend!

Leave a Reply

