The Kids Saved My Day

flagI had a typical crappy day at the job, which I had hoped today would be less crappy. Did I mention at all that today is my birthday? I didn’t think so.

Anyway, when the day finally ended we were going to see a show!!! We were enjoying a show put on by half of the second grade classes at Bird’s school. So 80 little Birds and Birdettes dressed in white shirts and blue pants singing and reciting poems to honor Heros.

Now normally these shows are fun to watch because the kids are looking around, waving at their families, talking to each other, picking their noses, looking at us like a deer in headlights, and every once in a while remembering a gesture they have to do, just at the wrong time.

But tonight….it was a good show but WOW! These kids were amazing!!!!! They were ALL into it, and sang 5 or 6 songs and spoke 3 or 4 poems….my program is downstairs and I’m feeling too lazy to go down and verify my facts….and they sounded wonderful! And these weren’t simple Yankee Doodle type songs either! They sang my favorite, God Bless the USA by Lee Greenwood, for goodness sakes!!!! It was a lot for them to remember and they worked hard practicing and nailed it.

Then….the kids came off the stage and gave American Flags to the veterans. I doubt there was a dry eye in the place!

It was extremely hard to be grumpy or sad after that. Thanks all you little birdies, that was just what I needed today. 🙂 Freedom is the best present, let’s celebrate that we have it every day.

Leave a Reply

