She Doesn’t Always Yell!

So Peanut got her braces off on Tuesday and life was great. She was smiling ear to ear which I haven’t seen since before Bird was born!

Then Wednesday she was catapulted into hell on earth when she got her retainer. That she needs to wear 24/7 for 6 weeks. When I reminded her how we weren’t sure she was even getting the braces off and she did what she was supposed to to make that happen so that’s great she was not impressed. When I said well the 6 weeks will be over before school starts so no one will see her with them unless she goes to/has a sleepover she was slightly more impressed though it was hard to know for sure with the massive eye roll I got.

So family conversations have gone like this. No need to identify who’s talking I’m sure!

Can I see your blue sparkly retainer?
OMG NO IT’S IN MY MOUTH AND NOT COMING OUT!!!!!

Why do they bother making it colorful when you can’t see it?
OMG I DON’T KNOWWWWWWW I DIDN’T MAKE IT!!!!!

You just need to get used to it.
OMG STOP TALKING TO ME! 

Please put your retainer in.
OMG I KNOWWWWWWW!!!

Please don’t leave your retainer on the couch. 
OMG IT’S ON A NAPKIN!!!!!!!

Please don’t chew gum constantly so you don’t have to wear your retainer. 
OMG STOP LECTURING ME! 

No you can’t eat ice cream again.
OMG WHAT THE CRAP!!!  MY TEETH HURT!!!!!

You need to clean your retainers every day.
OMG!!! NO! I’M NOT DOING THAT,  THAT’S GROSS!!!!!

We spent several thousand dollars on your mouth. You will wear the retainer as you’re supposed to. We could have bought new family room furniture.
OMG WHAT THE CRAP!  I DON’T CARE!!! YOU SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT THE FURNITURE!!!!!! (Now I will tell you this one was Mr. G. Why that was the comparison I have no clue. But at least she is an equal opportunity yeller.

Friend calls and she runs away whispering.

2 thoughts on “She Doesn’t Always Yell!

  1. Thank goodness I read thins BEFORE I began eating breakfast, otherwise my MacBook would be adorned with varying degrees of masticated breakfast foods and/or juice or coffee. LOL! Two words: Payback child?? (JK) LOL! I know I have mine in my youngest. I’ll have to do as you have done, and come up with some catchy “nicks” for my spawn. (hmmm….heads off to kill the fatted shredded wheat, and brew some intense caffeinated nectar of life as offering to his raging stomach gods)

Leave a Reply

